Search the GPRWMF Website

Established in partnership with the Australian Society of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery (ASOHNS), the Robert Guerin Research Prize recognises outstanding research undertaken by a surgical trainee in OHNS.

The Prize is named in honour of Robert Langley Guerin AM, Trustee of the Foundation (1995—1999) and past President of ASOHNS (1991—1993). A great contributor to the OHNS specialty, Dr Guerin was a dedicated teacher who promoted the specialty both locally and internationally, and was the convener for the inaugural surgical trainee meeting (now known as the Robert Guerin Meeting), held in Adelaide in 1990.

Trainees submit their best papers for assessment to ASOHNS for shortlisting, with the winner being chosen by the GPRWMF Board, and announced at the annual Robert Guerin Meeting. The Prize offers a certificate, free registration and an invitation to speak at the next Frontiers in Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery conference.

Submissions are shortlisted based on the following criteria, with Board Members selecting the final winner:

  1. Quality of the research methodology
  2. Quality of the writing
  3. Potential impact on ENT research

To read more on our Robert Guerin Research Prize winners, please see our News Page, or click the links in the table below.


Year Name Winning Paper Published
2020 Dr Jake Jervis-Bardy Examining the Evidence for an Adult Healthy Middle Ear Microbiome American Society for Microbiology
mSphere open-access Journal
2019 Dr Nathan Creber Adjuvant agents enhance round window membrane permeability to dexamethasone
and modulate basal to apical cochlear gradient
European Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences